Back to All Events

A Bunch of Amateurs


  • Priory Theatre Rosemary Hill Kenilworth, England, CV8 1BN United Kingdom (map)

Directed by Karen Shayler

Keen to boost his flagging career, fading Hollywood action hero Jefferson Steele arrives in England to play King Lear in Stratford – only to find that this is not the birthplace of the Bard, but a sleepy Suffolk village.

And instead of Kenneth Branagh and Dame Judi Dench, the cast are a bunch of amateurs trying to save their theatre from developers. Jefferson’s monstrous ego, vanity and insecurity are tested to the limit by the enthusiastic am-dram thespians.

As acting worlds collide and Jefferson’s career implodes, he discovers some truths about himself – along with his inner Lear!

 

Performances

Wednesday 5th September – 7:30pm
Thursday 6th September – 7:30pm
Friday 7th September – 7:30pm
Saturday 8th September – 7:30pm
Monday 10th September – 7:30pm
Tuesday 11th September – 7:30pm
Wednesday 12th September - 7:30pm
Thursday 13th September - 7:30pm
Friday 14th September - 7:30pm
Saturday 15th September - 7:30pm

Tickets

Tickets will soon be available via our online booking system - click the "Buy Tickets" button to see what else is available in the 2018 Season   - and are priced as follows:

  • Adults - £10.00
  • Concessions - £9.00

Group discounts are available for bookings of 10 seats or more, and are automatically applied at checkout.

If you require wheelchair access, or want to take advantage of one of our charity/group packages, please contact the theatre directly on 01926 863334 or via the Contact Us page.

Earlier Event: July 11
Tiptoe through the Tombstones
Later Event: October 24
Quartet